STEP INTO THE LIGHT OR EMBRACE ME ON THE DARK SIDE…

I have a question, I have had this facebook account going on three weeks thinking it would be a fantastic networking tool and I have a few observations if you will humor me.  I have joined a number of book clubs who are frequented by the majority of members from other clubs and other clubs so if you are a member of two clubs literally you have talked to damn near everyone in our circles.  Now this means that publisher editors authors marketeers and publicists are the individuals in most of these groups…so there are people that are trying to sell books and ideas to people with their own books and ideas and still more with their own books and ideas…Where the hell are the readers, the layman reader, because I don’t see many of them I just see a lot of colleagues not learning from each other but trying to sell you a product, in turn you are trying to sell them the same product…now I know this might not be popular conversation with the traditionalists but shouldn’t it be if we want to keep the attention of the reader and not crush the spirits of the next Shakespeare, Melville, or Giovanni…I know this will fall on deaf ears and for those individuals who are truly anal retentive that change scares the hell out of them, so be it, then let it fall on the ears of the true writer, striving to create the great American novel, short story, or fantasy to take my mind to that special place.  I know you are out there and you have been sucked into the event horizon of a black hole and you are becoming like what you disdained, come back, don’t let this be high school all over again where you have to be like them to gain their favor to be in the inner circle.  Remember this there is a reason lions walk the plains of Africa alone, they are strong enough to stand alone or with an elite few.  If this is social media lets communicate, be social, then we might come up with an idea to hit our target audience.    

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “STEP INTO THE LIGHT OR EMBRACE ME ON THE DARK SIDE…

  1. Pingback: STEP INTO THE LIGHT OR EMBRACE ME ON THE DARK SIDE… | JimeniinemiJ69

  2. Yay! Finally another of the few who seem to think like me. 🙂 Great! I am, like you a member of several groups, but hardly ever promote my stuff on the evil book of faces, because it’s mostly other authors I’m talking too. No use in trying to sell them my stuff, they won’t buy it anyway. 🙂 Too busy trying to sell their own thing. But I do am also a member of the Book Junkies, run by a few great ladies (actual readers) and fun to interact with. They do not allow for promotion on their group (have created a separate promotion group for those authors who feel that insatiable need to promote their work) Me? I just want to interact with people who have great ideas, or really want to know what makes me tick. And then there is Tom Winton’s group. A bunch of great authors looking out for each other. genuinely trying to help each other and not just plug. (although there are always the odd few who don’t see the big picture and use every group as their private billboard (so annoying, my mind shuts down at the gazillionth post about their book. Suffice to say there’s no use trying to have a meaningful conversation with those)
    Wow, I did ramble on did I? Anyway. Loved this post, keep ’em coming and I invite you to write me a Guest Blogger Day post for my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

